Adeboye, 3 women mathematicians bag highest awards



Adeboye, 3 women mathematicians bag highest awards


General Overseer of  the Redeemed Christian Church of God,Pastor Enoch Adeboye has added another feather to his cap as a fellow of Mathematical Association of Nigeria (FMAN) at the opening ceremony of 54th annual National Conference of the Mathematical Association of  Nigeria at Yaba College of Technology.

The National President of the association,Dr S.A Adeniran said Pastor Adeboye deserved the highest award of the association considering his impressive  academic performance and attainment.

Adeboye had his Masters(MSc) degree in Hydrodynamics and doctorate degree (PhD) in Applied Mathematics both from the University Lagos in 1969 and 1975 respectively. He was represented by Pastor Jide Ojurongbe. Another awardee  of FMAN fellowship was Professor Olabisi Ugbebor, the first Nigerian  woman to obtain a PhD in mathematics at a young age of 25.

Conferring  the award on her,Dr  Adeniran said Prof Ugbebor’s   proficiency in mathematics earned her scholarships including   Federal Government  scholarship to study mathematics at University of Ibadan(1969-1972),where she was the only female in a class of seven, and graduated in 1972 with Second Class Upper Honours degree in mathematics. Consequently, University of  Ibadan gave her scholarship to undertake postgraduate studies at the University  of London.

She graduated at the University  College, London in 1973, the First University Statistics Department in the world. The high point of the ceremony was the  performance Mr Austin Nwabuwanne who thrilled the audience with his mathematics formula.

The author of Transformational Mathematics for Senior Secondary School lost his sight while developing himself in mathematics, yet he was not discouraged to ride the crest of success and fame in mathematics;until he came up with a new formula which he named Austin’s formula.

Delivering his keynote address,Dr Iyi Uwadiae, the Registrar,West African Examination Council(WAEC) lauded the Association’s vital role in improving the learning of mathematics in  schools, saying that the importance of mathematics was inexhaustible. “It’s  relevant in all fields of human endeavour; even in every day life,and above all, in furtherance of educational pursuit in higher institutions.

Other distinguished awardees are :Dr Mercy Ngozi Nwoye, Professor Shem Binda,Samuel Sogunro(Rector),Joshua Adeaiye, Birgitta Eno Okodugha and Christopher Yelposu.

– Vanguard

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button