APC sweeps Osun LG polls

APC sweeps Osun LG polls


APC-rallyTHE Osun State Independent Electoral Commission (OSIEC), on Sunday in Osogbo declared the All Progressive Congress (APC) winner in all the 71 councillorship seats, contested in the Saturday parliamentary local government election conducted in the state.

Declaring the results at the premises of OSIEC, the chairman of the electoral umpire, Mr Segun Oladitan, said 71 councillorship seats were contested and 318 others returned unopposed.

He disclosed that in Osun Central Senatorial District, 128 candidates all from the APC were elected unopposed.

While giving further details of the results, Oladitah said in Osun West, 117 contestants all from APC were returned unopposed, while 73 APC candidates returned unopposed in Osun East.

In the 71 wards where elections were held, Oladitan said APC emerged victorious in all, explaining that in West Senatorial, all 13 seats were won by the ruling party.

In Central Senatorial District, the 6 seats contested all gone the way of APC and in East Senatorial, all 52 councillorship seats contested were won by the ruling party.

Oladitan, who issued certificates of return to the elected councillors said despite the pockets of crises witnessed during the exercise, the polls were generally peaceful and successful.




– Nigerian Tribune

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button