Aregbesola forwards names of Commissioners, LGs, LCDA caretaker nominees to Osun Assembly

Aregbesola forwards names of Commissioners, LGs, LCDA caretaker nominees to Osun Assembly

Osun State Governor, Mr Rauf
Aregbesola forwarded the names of
Executive Secretaries and members
nominated as caretaker committees
for 30 Local Government Areas and
31 Local Council Development Areas
in the state to the Osun State House
of Assembly for consideration and
confirmation by the legislature.
In a letter by the governor which
was dated April 6 and read by the
Speaker of the House, Mr Najeem
Salaam at the plenary in Osogbo
on Monday, Aregbesola sought the
confirmation of the names of the
nominees to run the governance at the
third tier in the state.
According to the letter, “Pursuant
to section 2, (a) and (b) of the
State of Osun Local Government
Administration (Amendment
No.6), Law 2016, I have the honour
to forward for consideration and
confirmation by the House of
Assembly the list of nominees of
Executives Secretaries and members
of the Local Government Caretaker
Committees to run the affairs of the
Local Government Council, Local
Council Development Areas, Area
Councils and Administrative offices.

Meanwhile, the names of many former commissioners have been allegedly dropped from the state’s executive as the Osun state Governor, Ogbeni Rauf Aregbesola has reportedly submitted a list of new Commissioners and Special Adviser nominees to the state house of Assembly.

A highly placed source, who did not want his name mentioned because he is not authorized to speak with the media, revealed that the governor sent the names of his appointees to the speaker of the state house of Assembly, Rt. Hon. Najeem Salaam, who is set to announce it anytime from now.

“I can confirm to you that Mr. Governor through one of his trusted aide, delivered the sealed letter containing names of the nominated Commissioners and Special Advisers to the Speaker” the source revealed.

Although the source who is a lawmaker, when asked, initially said, “I can’t reveal to you the names of those selected, please wait till it is announced,” however revealed, upon further prodding, that the governor dropped most of his former commissioners and special advisers and only picked few of them.

But, another source in the know, revealed that former commissioners who made it into the new list include the former Commissioner For Commerce, Co-Op & Empowerment, Mr. Jayeoba Alagbada; Former Special Adviser For Youth, Sports & Special Needs, Mr. Biyi Odunlade; and Former Commissioner for Regional Integration & Special Duties, Dr Ajibola Basiru.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button